O’Sharkahan’s

Irish Red

This beer was an Irish red ale I brewed for St. Paddy’s.  This one was one of my small batches done in the Mr Beer keg.  Irish red is a style I enjoy, but I’d get bored having 5 gallons of it sitting around. The brew day for this was done on my stove top.  This was a while back, so I don’t recall anything particularly out of the ordinary about it except that I do recall that I oversparged a bit.  That boosted my efficiency and left me with more beer then I could fit in the fermentor.  I had to dump some, which is a shame.

O’Sharkahan’s

Type: All Grain
Batch Size: 2.50 gal
Efficiency: 75.00 %
Ingredients
Amt Name Type # %/IBU
3 lbs Pale Malt, Maris Otter (3.0 SRM) Grain 1 65.5 %
1 lbs Vienna Malt (Briess) (3.5 SRM) Grain 2 21.8 %
4.0 oz Caramalt (Simpsons) (35.0 SRM) Grain 3 5.5 %
3.0 oz Crystal, Dark (Simpsons) (85.0 SRM) Grain 4 4.1 %
2.2 oz Roasted Barley (Briess) (300.0 SRM) Grain 5 3.1 %
0.50 oz Fuggle [4.50 %] – Boil 60.0 min Hop 6 18.5 IBUs
0.25 oz East Kent Goldings (EKG) [5.00 %] – Boil 15.0 min Hop 8 5.1 IBUs
1.0 pkg Irish Ale (Wyeast Labs #1084) [124.21 ml] Yeast 9

Gravity, Alcohol Content and Color

Est Original Gravity: 1.051 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.014 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 4.8 %
Bitterness: 23.6 IBUs
Est Color: 16.0 SRM
Measured Original Gravity: 1.051 SG
Measured Final Gravity: 1.013 SG
Actual Alcohol by Vol: 5.0 %
Calories: 170.0 kcal/12oz

Mash Profile

Mash Steps
Name Description Step Temperature Step Time
Mash In Add 5.72 qt of water at 165.9 F 154.0 F 60 min

Tasting Notes:

Appearance:  This beer poured a nice deep red.  It took a while to clear for some reason, but when it did it was a nice beer.
Aroma:  Malty aroma, almost toast like, nothing in the way of hops.
Taste:  Buttered toast, some caramel notes.  Bitterness is just enough to keep it from being too sweet.
Mouthfeel:  Very smooth, Light carbonation.
Overall:  I really liked this recipe, but I’d go with a different yeast next time.  I’m not a fan of the buttery taste in this beer, and would prefer a cleaner yeast profile.  I’d also probably drop the Vienna malt.
Leave a Reply

