Doodle Face

Whisk

So this was a beer I brewed back in February.  This beer was in honor of my wife and I getting our dog, Whiskey, pictured above 🙂  She’s a blast, and I wanted to dedicate a beer to her.  I had a bunch of Citra hops from my friend Ted, and I wanted a beer to showcase them.  I did this batch in my Mr Beer Keg since I wanted to use some Citra, but not deplete my whole stock.  

I was inspired by Three Floyds Zombie Dust when I set out to brew this one.  If you haven’t been fortunate enough to have this beer, then find a way to get it.  It is great.  The thing about this beer is the balance.  It has a bunch of Citra hop flavor, but it’s also got some great biscuity and bready malt flavor.  The beer is really more like an IPA, but they call it a pale ale.  I used a clone recipe I found on homebrewtalk.com, for Zombie Dust and modified it to use some leftover stuff I had.  

The only thing I remember about this brew day was WAAAAAY overshooting my OG.  This was one of the first batches that I went to my local homebrew shop and crushed the grains myself.  Prior to that I had ordered online.  When I crushed my own grains at the LHBS, I found I got a better crush, and my efficiency increased.  I’m still trying to get my typical efficiency dialed in.

 

Here’s the recipe I used.

Doodle Face: Doodle

Batch size: 2.7

OG: 1.070                               FG: 1.014

IBU:62                                     Color: 8

ABV: 7.4%

Grain:

6lbs 2 Row pale malt

.5lb Munich 10

.25lb Simpson’s Caramalt 35L

.25lb Carapils

.25lb Melanoiden Malt

2oz of acid malt.

Hops:

.4oz Citra First Wort Hop

.5oz Citra for 15 min

.5oz Citra for 10 min

.5oz Citra for 5 min

.5oz Citra at flameout

1.5oz dryhop for 7 days

Yeast:  Safale S-04 dry English Ale

I mashed at 152 for 60 min.

Tasting Notes:

DF Beer

Appearance: This one poured a copper color.  I know English ale yeasts are supposed to clear up quick, but S-04 seems to take a while to clear for me.  This beer stayed pretty hazy for most of the batch until the last few finally cleared in the fridge.

Aroma:  Citrus, but not huge aroma.

Taste.  Pretty good, but no Zombie Dust.  That’s to be expected since I overshot my OG by a pretty big margin.  My ABV was a full one percent higher than planned, so the hop flavors suffered from the bigger malt presence.  Still, this beer was nice and had the great Citra citrus and mango flavor.  The malt had a nice sweet taste that reminded me of baked bread.

Mouthfeel.  Medium carb.  Pretty standard stuff for a IPA.

Overall:  This beer turned out good, but much stronger than planned.  This threw the flavor profile off some, and the beer was more balanced than I wanted.  I plan on brewing this beer again, but with substantial changes to the recipe. 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

