Doodle Face 2.0

Doodle Face 2 glassDoodle Face 2

Part 2 of my 2 batch brew day on 09/13/14. My first batch of the day, another batch of my DIPA White Death, went really well.  The second batch of the day was an update of my beer Doodle Face, named after my family Goldendoodle, Whiskey.  The first time I brewed this beer was just a small batch in my Mr. Beer keg.  The original was based heavily on Three Floyd’s Zombie Dust.  I was overshot my numbers on that brew by a pretty big margin, and while good, didn’t turn out like I’d wanted. For this batch, I decided I wasn’t going for a Zombie Dust clone.  This beer would be an APA, and still mostly Citra, but the hop schedule and malt bill changed quite a bit.  I actually had wanted initially to use Conan yeast in this beer too, but my LHBS only had two packs, which I used on the first brew of the day.  Instead, I used another favorite yeast of mine, WLP 007 Dry English Ale.  I’m actually glad I did this, it will help differentiate the two brews more.  I decided to go with a base of entirely Golden Promise.  I’ve done blends of that with 2 Row, but I’ve never had it as the lone base malt.  I like the sweetness that Golden Promise provides though, and I’m excited to see how it does here.  I used some caramalt for some color and additional sweetness, and used flaked oats and carapils for body.  I’m trying to keep this one from drying out too much, as I’d like to keep a creamy mouthfeel for this beer.   This was a 4.5 gallon batch, hoping to get 4 into the fermenter after straining the hops.

The water profile for this beer was Ca+2-146  Mg+2-0   Na-0   Cl-58   SO4-272

The brew day went well, My dad and brother Kevin were both over towards the end of the first batch, and my wife Kristin came home from a skydiving trip during this batch, so it was fun to have helpers and drinking buddies.  And I promised I’d put this in…..my brother Kevin stopped me from absentmindedly almost doughing in without my grain bag in the pot……there you go Kev.  Other than that, the brew went really well.  I mashed in at 153.5, a couple degrees under what I wanted, but it was close enough that I didn’t want to play around with it.

doodle face bag

Kev on the left, me on the right, draining the grain bag

Doodle face boil

Doodle Face Boil

After the boil, I whirlpooled the hops for a half hour, cooled, took a gravity reading, and then pitched a 1.75 liter starter of yeast.  For the second batch in a row, I basically hit my OG, 1.061, just one point short!  Now I just hope the beer doesn’t dry out too much.  Here’s the recipe:

Batch Size (fermenter): 4.50 gal   
Estimated OG: 1.062 SG
Estimated FG: 1.017
Estimated Color: 5.6 SRM
Estimated IBU: 45.0 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt                   Name                                     Type          #        %/IBU         
8 lbs                 Pale Malt, Golden Promise (Thomas Fawcet Grain         1        80.4 %        
8.0 oz                Oats, Flaked (Briess) (1.4 SRM)          Grain         2        5.0 %         
8.0 oz                White Wheat Malt (2.4 SRM)               Grain         3        5.0 %         
6.0 oz                Caramalt (Thomas Fawcett) (15.0 SRM)     Grain         4        3.8 %         
6.0 oz                Carapils (Briess) (1.5 SRM)              Grain         5        3.8 %         
3.1 oz                Acid Malt (3.0 SRM)                      Grain         6        2.0 %         


0.25 oz               Apollo [17.00 %] - Boil 60.0 min         Hop           7        17.4 IBUs     
           
1.00 oz               Citra [12.00 %] - Boil 10.0 min          Hop           9        17.8 IBUs     
1.00 oz               Citra [12.00 %] - Boil 5.0 min           Hop           10       9.8 IBUs      
3.00 oz               Citra [12.00 %] - Steep/Whirlpool  0.0 m Hop           11       0.0 IBUs      
    
4.00 oz               Citra [12.00 %] - Dry Hop 5.0 Days       Hop           13       0.0 IBUs      


1.0 pkg               Dry English Ale (White Labs #WLP007) [35 Yeast         
Mash        155.0 F       60 min        

The beer is currently fermenting with the other batch in my fridge at 65 degrees.  They’ll both get dry hopped when fermentation has finished, and will be bottled at around 2 weeks.  I’ll update at bottling time.

Bottled 09/28/14:  Bottled at two weeks in the fermenter.  I dry hopped for four days.  The hydro sample looked like orange juice, and tasted and smelled great.  The final gravity was a bit lower than I’d hoped, 1.013, but thats ok.  The beer ended up at 6.2%, just two points above what I’d hoped.  Tasting update to follow after I’ve tried this one a couple times.

Tasting Update on 10/06/14:

The hop gods must have blessed this brew day.  This was the second batch I did that day, my DIPA White Death being the first.  That beer turned out amazing, and this beer is right up there with it.  These two beers are two of the best I’ve brewed, and both recipes are keepers as they are.

Appearance:  Poured into a tapered pint glass as pictured at the top.  This beer looks like a glass of orange juice.  The color is yellowish orange and very hazy.  I know some may be put off, but I love the haze in this beer, it adds to the hop juice like quality I was going for.  I didn’t take any measures to eliminate the haze, and it definitely shows.  The beer had a nice frothy white head that stuck around for a while.

Smell:  The Citra hop aroma from this beer is huge.  There’s mango, orange, tropical fruit, and hints of grapefruit all exploding from the glass.  All hops, no real aroma that I could get from the malt or yeast.

Taste:  Soooooo good.  The taste follows the smell for sure.  There’s a nice initial bite of bitterness from the Apollo hops, but its not harsh at all.  This beer is basically a citrus and tropical fruit hop bomb.  Mangos, citrus, and hints of pineapple.  There’s a very mild ester profile from the English yeast that compliments the hops well.  The finish has some pleasant sweetness from the Golden Promise malt.

Mouthfeel:  This is another area where this beer shines.  Imagine orange juice with carbonation.  Very easy drinking for a 6% beer. I feel like I could guzzle this beer.  The beer leaves nice sticky lacing down the sides of the glass.  Very smooth.

Overall:  This one’s a keeper.  Waaaay better than the first version I did of this beer.  Granted, the first time I brewed this the malt bill was different, and I way overshot my efficiency and wound up with an under hopped IPA instead of an APA.  This beer went as planned, so I ended up with the Citra bomb I intended.  Though the hops dominate for sure, I love the sweetness that Golden Promise provides, and I’d like to incorporate it into some other recipes.  I also really like the White Labs 007 Dry English Ale yeast.  I’ve used it a couple times now, and I’ve really enjoyed it in my hoppy beers.  The slight ester profile it gives off when fermented in the mid 60’s goes really well with fruity American hops.  This beer turned out great, and there’s nothing I’d change about it.

One thought on “Doodle Face 2.0

  1. Pingback: Doodle Face 2.0 Tasting Update! | White Pointer Brewery

Leave a Reply

