White Death 2.0

White death glass 2White Death 2

This batch was brewed as part of a double brew day this past Saturday, 09/13/14.  The last batch of this beer was one of the very best I’ve brewed, but it wasn’t quite perfect yet.  This was my latest attempt at brewing that perfect DIPA.

I changed a few things from the first crack at this recipe, and it’s mostly just bringing this beer closer to being like Heady Topper.  I finally was able to get a couple cans of that beer, and it was mind blowingly delicious.  So I basically wanted to take that beer, maybe dial the bitterness back just a tiny bit, and use some Citra hops to get a bit of tropical hop flavor in there.  My last batch was pretty much that any way, but for the new batch I subbed Pearl malt in for the blend of 2 Row and Golden Promise.  Pearl is the base malt for Heady, and I like the bread/grainy like flavor it has.  I also just wanted to simplify the malt bill.  I made sure I got caramalt this time instead of the crystal 10.  I used two syringes of hop extract at the 60 minute mark, replacing Apollo hops from the first time.  I axed the Apollo addition at 30 minutes.  I added an Apollo addition at 5 minutes.  One of the unknowns for me here was the hop extract.  A spreadsheet someone on a site I saw calculated that I would get 83 IBUs out of the extract.  I figured that, combined with all the late hops/ hot whirlpool hops, would give me enough bitterness.

My water profile for this beer was:

Ca-155   Mg-0   Na-0   Cl-56   SO4-294

white death sparge

Heating the mash tun

I mashed in at 151 and left it for an hour.  My target was 152, but this was close enough for me that I didn’t feel the need to mess around with it.  I did my batch sparge, and then got the boil going.  I didn’t realize I had exited the timer on my phone at one point unfortunately, but I had a good idea what time it left off at.  Other than that little hiccup, the brew went really well.

White Death towels

My sophisticated way of keeping the mash tun insulated

whit death boil

The boil!

After the boil, I added all the whirlpool hops, and whirlpooled them hot.  This should get me some great hop flavor and aroma, while still contributing to the bitterness of the brew.  The hop stand lasted 30 minutes, and then I chilled to about 72 degrees.  I pitched my Omega DIPA (Conan) yeast.  I used two packs in a liter starter.  I took my OG, and I finally hit one on the dot, 1.075!

Batch Size (fermenter): 6.00 gal   
Estimated OG: 1.075 SG
Estimated FG: 1.014
Estimated Color: 5.6 SRM
Estimated IBU: 105.3 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt                   Name                                     Type          #        %/IBU         
13 lbs                Pearl (2.5 SRM)                          Grain         1        83.2 %        
1 lbs                 White Wheat Malt (2.4 SRM)               Grain         2        6.4 %         
8.0 oz                Oats, Flaked (1.0 SRM)                   Grain         3        3.2 %         
6.0 oz                Caramalt (Thomas Fawcett) (15.0 SRM)     Grain         4        2.4 %         
4.0 oz                Acid Malt (3.0 SRM)                      Grain         5        1.6 %         
8.0 oz                Corn Sugar (Dextrose) (0.0 SRM) Sugar 17 3.2 % 


2.00 oz               HopShot [14.30 %] - Boil 60.0 min        Hop           6        83.4 IBUs                
1.00 oz               Citra [12.00 %] - Boil 5.0 min           Hop           8        7.0 IBUs      
1.00 oz               Simcoe [13.00 %] - Boil 5.0 min          Hop           9        7.6 IBUs      
0.75 oz               Apollo [17.00 %] - Boil 5.0 min          Hop           10       7.4 IBUs      
2.00 oz               Columbus/Tomahawk/Zeus (CTZ) [15.50 %] - Hop           11       0.0 IBUs      
2.00 oz               Simcoe [13.00 %] - Steep/Whirlpool  0.0  Hop           12       0.0 IBUs      
1.00 oz               Amarillo [9.20 %] - Steep/Whirlpool  0.0 Hop           13       0.0 IBUs      
0.50 oz               Apollo [17.00 %] - Steep/Whirlpool  0.0  Hop           14       0.0 IBUs      
0.50 oz               Citra [12.00 %] - Steep/Whirlpool  0.0 m Hop           15       0.0 IBUs      

        

2.0 pkg DIPA Ale (Omega Yeast Labs #OYL-052) Yeast 16 - 

2.00 oz               Simcoe [13.00 %] - Dry Hop 5.0 Days      Hop           18       0.0 IBUs      
1.00 oz               Amarillo [9.20 %] - Dry Hop 5.0 Days     Hop           19       0.0 IBUs      
1.00 oz               Columbus (Tomahawk) [14.00 %] - Dry Hop  Hop           20       0.0 IBUs      
0.50 oz               Apollo [17.00 %] - Dry Hop 5.0 Days      Hop           21       0.0 IBUs      
0.50 oz               Citra [12.00 %] - Dry Hop 5.0 Days       Hop           22       0.0 IBUs      



   
Mash In               152.0 F       60 min

I’ll update once this beer is in the bottles!

Bottled on 09/28/14:  The beer was dry hopped for four days then bottled at the two week mark.  The beer finished at 1.013, so my measured ABV will be 8.2%  Thats in line with what I wanted, and the hydro sample looked and tasted great!  I’ll update after I’ve had a couple so I can post tasting notes.

Tasting Update on 10/06/14:

So the good thing about hoppy beers is the nice quick grain to glass time.  A week in the bottle, and only three weeks total from brew day, and this beer was right where I wanted.  I did a post about the quest for my perfect IPA, and I think I found it!

Appearance:  Poured into my tulip as pictured up top.  The beer is a beautiful bright orange color.  This brew is very hazy which is something I actually enjoy in an IPA.  The Conan yeast, oats, high amount of hops, and wheat all contribute to some of the haze.  The beer pours with a nice white head.

Smell:  This beer has HUGE aroma.  Lots of earthy dankness, some pine, and some fruity aroma like pineapple, mango, peach, and citrus.  The Conan yeast contributes some nice peachy aroma as well.  You can smell this beer as soon as you crack the bottle open.  The only way I can see this being better is if I kegged and shot it through a hop rocket or something.

Taste:  Nice bitterness upfront, but its not at all overwhelming.  I like the bitterness the hopshot provided.  It’s advertised as being a smoother bitterness, and I think that’s true.  The hop flavor hits next, and its huge!  There’s some pineapple, grapefruit, orange, peach, and a bit of earthy spice to the flavor.  The finish has just a hint of sweet bready malt flavor to keep it from being strait hop juice.

Mouthfeel: This was the area that’s probably most improved over the first batch I did over the summer.  That first batch dried out way too much since I had to add more sugar than intended.  The mouthfeel on this batch it great!  Its a nice medium bodied beer with an almost creamy texture to it.   The carbonation level is medium, the usual for the style.  The beer leaves nice resiny sticky lacing down the side of the glass.  The hop resins almost coat your mouth as you drink.  Great stuff.

Overall:  Well ladies and gentlemen, this is it.  This is the beer I’ve been trying to brew.  There’s nothing I would change in this recipe.  Its one of the few beers I’ve brewed that’s turned out exactly how I wanted it to.  I’d put this up against any commercial IPA I can think of.  Its a shame this beer is such a hit on the wallet, cause I’d love this to be in my fridge at all times.  It’ll be interesting to see how this hold up over time.  The previous batch lost some hop goodness pretty quickly, but I did better racking to the bottling bucket this time, no bubbles and It was racked very slowly and gently.  If you are reading this blog looking for a good hoppy recipe…..brew this, you won’t be disappointed!

3 thoughts on “White Death 2.0

  1. Pingback: Doodle Face 2.0 | White Pointer Brewery

  2. Pingback: White Death DIPA 2.0 Tasting Update! | White Pointer Brewery

  3. Pingback: My 2014 Homebrewing Year in Review | White Pointer Brewery

Leave a Reply

