Turning Pro

Hey guys,

The title says it all.  Some friends/investors and I are trying to do this thing for real.  You may have noticed (or maybe you didn’t, haha) that this site has been set to private for a week or so.  During that time I’ve been deciding what to do with this blog.  It didn’t make sense to me to keep it going as I start testing recipes for the new brewery, and that’s what my goal is for every batch of beer I brew this year.  I figured it wouldn’t be very interesting to read a homebrew blog without any actual recipes being published.

The thing is, I didn’t want to take this down.  I did delete a few posts that were recipes that I may use eventually, or I at least edited exact amounts out, but the article people read most was my yeast comparison.  I figured why take that down?

I’ve put a lot of work into this blog over the years, and while it doesn’t make sense for me to continue it for the time being, I couldn’t just take it down altogether.  Most of the posts are still up in their entirety.  About 5 or 6 were removed or edited, but a lot of useful info to homebrewers is still here.

I hope you guys still enjoy reading what’s here, and please wish me luck going forward.  It’s been a lot of fun writing this for you guys, and I hope you’ve enjoyed reading it.  I’ll be sure to post an update eventually with the new brewery info, it very likely won’t be White Pointer.

Cheers,

Eric

14 thoughts on “Turning Pro

  1. Any details about where/when your brewery will open? I love NEIPAS and Milkshake IPAs, so I’d love to check visit you st some point. Your murky mango shake post helped me a lot to brew my first (in fermenter now)

    Cheers

    Like

  2. Man. I just discovered your blog a couple months ago and you do such a great job with it and always look forward to reading about your brews! Good luck on your future in brewing, that’s pretty much every homebrewer’s dream. Hopefully you’ll still post a couple updates on here now and then.

    Did you ever finish the experiment between London III and A24 Dry Hop? I was looking forward to hearing about this. I’ve been hearing good things about their yeast, but nothing on Dry Hop..

    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Matt, I appreciate the kind words. I did end up doing a triangle test with two of the London Ale III beers and one with the A24, the beers were otherwise identical. The three beers looked identical. The person pouring knew which glass was which while I did not. I sampled all three for about 15 minutes. The beers were all VERY similar, but out of the three beers my favorite turned out to be the A24. The mouthfeel and look where the same, but the fruit aromas and flavors popped a bit more in the A24. More experience is needed before I’d call it a house yeast though, and I’d need to see if it works in dark ales as well.

    To sum it up, A24 and 1318 yielded pretty similar results. The A24 attenuated a couple points lower, so the 1318 had a touch more sweetness, but the A24 “popped” more.

    Like

  4. Hey Eric, I discovered your blog a couple weeks ago, and I was reading it everyday. You do such a great job explaining everything. I did notice your blog was set to private, and I said to myself your going pro how awesome!!!!! My favourite blog was your White Death, because you were searching for that perfect beer. I am just wonder how did your White Death 8.0 come out? Is it better than 7.0. Is it 100% complete? Is it the beer that your were searching for? I know you can’t go into details :).
    All the best with your brewery and developing awesome new recipes.

    Cheers,

    Like

    • Hey Tony, thanks for reading! White Death has been my favorite beer to make over the years, but I’m always tinkering with it. Version 8 was the best yet, but I’m still testing minor adjustments. I want to try it with Imperial Yeast A24 Dry Hop instead of 1318 to see how that yeast performs. The beer is so very close to being exactly how I want it. I just brewed another batch, so I’m hoping this is the one! Again, thank you so much for reading and I’ll post any brewery details when I have them!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hey Eric I hope everything is going good. What temperatures ranges do you ferment, and what temperatures do you recommend for London ale III yeast?

        Cheers,

        Like

      • With London Ale III I usually ferment around 68. I’ve done 65 and didn’t get as much fruit as I wanted so I pushed it a few more degrees to get more ester production. Since then thats been my usual with that yeast. I’ve also let it get to around 70 with good results. Honestly though, I’d be interested to see it around 72 to see what kind of fruity esters it throws off. I’ve never done it, but the results could be interesting!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Congrats on the new venture! I have been following your blog for about a year now. Have really enjoyed all the info you have shared. It has definitely shorten my homebrewing learning curve as I too focus on making NEIPAs. The White Death V6 was my first all grain batch and was a huge hit with my pals. I intended to try the V7, but sadly never got around to it…. I would love to try it someday. I travel to Chicago frequently and will look forward to checking out your place once it opens.

    Like

    • Hey Jeremy, thanks for reading! I’m glad White Death turned out well for you, its still my favorite beer I make. Did you brew V6 straight up or did you put a spin on it? The brewery opening is still at least a year away, but I’ll post some info on here eventually when we’re further along into the process!

      Like

      • I brewed it straight up. I didnt have the confidence at the time to change anything. Now I have brewed several times since and have experimented lots. I find it interesting that your adventure of seeking the perfect NEIPA has yielded similar results to the massive thread on Homebrewtalk. My malt base recipe is similar to your White Death V7, except I skip the sugar and shoot for a ~7% ABV beer. Still not sold on oats though – the head on my brews with oats dont last very long. Without oats the head lasts for days and I cannot detect any difference in mouthfeel.
        Just curious why the use of acidulated malt instead lactic acid?

        Like

  6. I read homebrew talk quite a bit and took some ideas from that thread for sure. I’ve since tailored it more to my taste. I’ve brewed what would be version ten of White Death with minor tweaks each time. There’s still a couple variables I’d like to explore.

    I like a higher percentage of oats, but I always use it with wheat. I usually have plenty of head with these beers with all those hops and wheat in there.

    As for the acid malt, it’s just something I’ve always done rather than any thought out preference, but I’ll probably switch to strait acid soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

